What’s in Your Wallet?

I love that CapitalOne commercial with the tag line: What’s in your wallet? The characters in the commercials are always finding themselves in some type of crazy situation and at that exact moment that question appears to be the most appropriate question to ask.

I started to ask myself the question…What’s in my wallet? No, not my physical wallet, but my spiritual wallet. The great thing about a spiritual wallet is that we do not have to be in some type of crazy situation to use it. We can use it at any time of the day or night, just because.

One of my favorite scriptures in my wallet that I use on a daily basis is found in Ephesians 6:13-15- the Amplified Bible verse reads:

Therefore put on God’s complete armor, that you may be able to resist and stand your ground on the evil day [of danger], and, having done all [the crisis demands], to stand [firmly in your place].
14Stand therefore [hold your ground], having tightened the belt of truth around your loins and having put on the breastplate of integrity and of moral rectitude and right standing with God,
15And having shod your feet in preparation [to face the enemy with the firm-footed stability, the promptness, and the readiness produced by the good news of the Gospel of peace.

What a way to wake up in the mornings! Knowing that you put on the complete armor of God before you walk out the door gives you peace of mind.

Since we are a covenant people, we are heirs to greatness and to what God as promised us. Sometimes, when life gets hard, I forget that. I pull out my spiritual wallet and remind myself that God never lies. The scripture in Numbers 23:19 (New International Version) reminds me:

God is not a man, that he should lie, nor a son of man, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill?

For the reassurance of his love, I always pull out John 3:16 (New International Version)–

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

I think about my only child and my only grandchild, and the love I have for them, would I have given them up to save a sinful mankind? How can I not be in awe of him and what he has done for me.

So the next time you hear “What’s in your wallet? take time to reflect on your spiritual wallet. Believe me; it’s better than plastic any day.

Peace and blessings

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

